Prairie County, MT and the Bakken Shale Play

Prairie County, MT

Prairie County (1,743 sq. miles) is located in eastern Montana and sits atop the Bakken Shale play.

Currently, there aren't any active operators in Praire. The county's highest recorded monthly oil production was in 2003 at 186,693 bbls.

Prairie County's only incorporated town is Terry, which serves as the county seat. Fallon and Saugus are other communities in the county.

County services of interest to oil and gas lease owners include the Prairie County Appraisal District (tax collector) office and the Prairie County Clerk (property records) office.



Prairie County Oil & Gas Discussion Forum

Join the Prairie County Discussion Group today - your voice counts! is a discussion network for mineral owners, royalty owners, and industry professionals to discuss oil & gas related topics.

Prairie County Pipeline Companies

  • WBI Energy